The Quilter: Quilting with Malke

Our Monthly Raffle with Mendel and Zelde

Posted on: October 14, 2010

Our Monthly Raffle is finally back! The prize is a $5 gift card to my store, Sew Materialistic, or a $5 coupon off your next purchase online @ www.sewmaterialistic.com. In order to enter please post a comment, ”like” the page, and suggest our Facebook page to a friend. Thanks!

I used to hear my husband laughing hysterically everytime he went to bathroom. He was reading this book: Anthology of Jewish Humor… That’s why I made the quilt: to remember that going to the bathroom CAN be funny!

Here is the rest of the story:

I started creating this Mendel & Zelda quilt waaay back in 1992, though I didn’t finish it until 2002. The story is copied from Anthology of Jewish Humor and handwritten on the quilt. Pictures are from The Keeping Quilt by Patricia Polacco. Edges of the couples were finished with puff paint done by my son’s friend’s mother, a professional “yarmulka” artist (she decorated Jewish little boy’s skullcaps). I spent $10 for her steady hand, beautiful work and no headache for me!

And in case you were curious about my husband and my sense of humor, here is an exerpt from the book:😉 enjoy!

What is a landlord? A bore! He asks you one question all the time-rent! What is rent? A fine you pay for being poor.  What is poverty? Dirt-on the surface. What is riches? More dirt-under the surface. Everybody wants money. Money! What is money? A disease we like to catch but not spread.

“Did you marry me or hire me?” asked Zelde.
“I stole you, now I have to pay the penalty.”
What is love? A conquest. What is marriage? An inquest. Don’t worry, your father was no fool. He made believe he didn’t see us run away. We felt romantic and he got off cheap.

What is romance? Soap bubbles. They look nice, but taste rotten. What’s a woman’s tongue? A little dog’s tail.  It wags too much! What is a dowry? Every man’s price.

2 Responses to "Our Monthly Raffle with Mendel and Zelde"

Hi Malke, I’m planning to be in Flatbush one day in November, so this gift card would really be useful! Looking forward to possibly meeting you.

Hi Malke, I love the Mendel and Zelde quilt and I like that you took the pictures from Patricia Pallaco’s book. She’s one of my favorite children’s book authors.
Your husband is very funny indeed.

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Malke

I've been a quilter for a couple of decades and I decided to share my quilts, methods, joys and thoughts on quilting with the rest of the blogsphere. Please bookmark my blog by clicking the cute "Add This" button below. Read more on the "About Me" page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Bookmark and Share
October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
