The Quilter: Quilting with Malke

Passing on the love

Posted on: August 15, 2010

I was busy doing my own quilting on the porch of my daughter’s summer home, when my curious grandkids asked what I was doing. Then they of course wanted to make a quilt, too! CB ,who is 8 yrs old, free formed the quilt and did it all herself, except for the stitching and bling (she cut out the pieces with Wonder Under and ironed it down). L, who is 6 yrs old, drew a picture of what he wanted on a paper, then traced it on the Wonder Under. He picked his own fabrics which I helped him cut out,  he did the placements and I did the stitching.
L’s quilt
CB’s quilt

I took the quilts home to finish quilting in Brooklyn and kept getting phone calls when I was going to be done.  They get them back within the week…

Didn’t they do a great job?!

2 Responses to "Passing on the love"

Oh they are gorgeous! I have never seen them done that way before and I know my little one would LOVE to try it. Very cool!

Thanks! It is fairly simple to do, especially if the child just does the drawing. But if the child is old enough, he/she can certainly do most of the designing (and cutting out) alone- which is the most fun anyway!🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Malke

I've been a quilter for a couple of decades and I decided to share my quilts, methods, joys and thoughts on quilting with the rest of the blogsphere. Please bookmark my blog by clicking the cute "Add This" button below. Read more on the "About Me" page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Bookmark and Share
August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
