The Quilter: Quilting with Malke

Recycled Denim Skirt

Posted on: July 2, 2010

My daughter is the original recycler- this is a project she made from an old recycled denim skirt:

Denim Skirt Bag Front

“This is the bag I made out of the top of a denim skirt that needed to be desperately thrown out. I had cut it off the skirt a few years ago and only now finally made s/t with it, so I was a bit limited with the size and all.”

Denim Skirt Bag Back

“All the outside pockets can be used; the back one I use for my cell phone. The handle is nylon webbing attached to a padded strap from a laptop bag- but covered with cotton velvet and topstitched with a decorative stitch (I only have about 4 of them on my machine :-/)”

Denim Skirt Bag Inside

“Inside I used a loose weave cotton (I had bought for a wrap, but didn’t work out) lined with a waterproof nylon fabric for the four pockets- all different sizes, two with velcro closures. The top closure is with two size #5 zippers, opening from the center, so the fly of the skirt/bag can still be opened🙂 (for no other reason, except I thought it would be cool!)”

Reinventing denim clothing is very popular and I hope you readers out there will share one of your projects, too!!

1 Response to "Recycled Denim Skirt"

very cool!! hope you get a lot of use from it.

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Malke

I've been a quilter for a couple of decades and I decided to share my quilts, methods, joys and thoughts on quilting with the rest of the blogsphere. Please bookmark my blog by clicking the cute "Add This" button below. Read more on the "About Me" page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Bookmark and Share
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
