The Quilter: Quilting with Malke

My Daughter’s Chupa Quilt

Posted on: May 24, 2009

Here is the picture of the quilt I created for my daughter’s Chupa.  It was part of the “ceiling” of the Chupa.

Quilt for Chupa

Quilt for Chupa

6 Responses to "My Daughter’s Chupa Quilt"

This is the most special chupa I have ever seen.

[…] of the quilt.  I really enjoy this pattern and have used it for my newly married daughter’s chupa [wedding canopy].  I got stuck when I had to do the borders, but I’ve solved this lingering […]

You have great talent. For those of us with no talent and living in much smaller orthodox communities and looking for a modestly designed and modestly priced wedding gown, I suggest Latter Day Bride.

Your quilt is very nice. I need to make one for my daughter but I am not sure what I’ll do yet.

Stacey
Driving Miss Stacey

The chupa you made for your daughter’s wedding is amazing! I am Catholic, but my cousin converted to Judaism after marrying the son of a Holocaust survivor. I am the only sewist on either side of their families. Although it is YEARS away (her twin boys are making their Bar Mitzvahs next May). I would love to make the chupa for their weddings. I have never mentioned it to her, but is it okay for someone who is not of the Jewish faith to undertake this work of love?

Thank you!

I’m not a rabbi or even qualified to answer religious questions but I don’t think it makes any difference who makes a chuppah. It’s exactly what you said it was, “a labor of love”.

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Malke

I've been a quilter for a couple of decades and I decided to share my quilts, methods, joys and thoughts on quilting with the rest of the blogsphere. Please bookmark my blog by clicking the cute "Add This" button below. Read more on the "About Me" page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Bookmark and Share
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
