The Quilter: Quilting with Malke

My Daughter’s Wedding Dress Project

Posted on: February 25, 2009

My youngest daughter became engaged this week so I will be busy preparing for her wedding.  She plans on getting married May 13, 2009.  That doesn’t leave me a lot of time to make her dress!  It started with my oldest daughter, she is a phenomenal sewer and wanted to make her own dress but I heard it was bad luck so we made a deal that I would make her’s and she would make mine.

Little did I know that that would snowball into a tradition and I am now on my fifth wedding gown (only they don’t reciprocate and make my dress!).  She bought her material and designed her dress and now I’m going to have to figure out how to make it.  I can sew but I’m not a professional and do not know how to drape sew.  I will try to write about my progress and would happily accept advice.

5 Responses to "My Daughter’s Wedding Dress Project"

Is there any update on your daughter’s wedding gown? Have you gotten an idea yet what she wants?

[…] I’ve gotten some emails asking for an update of my original post, so here […]

[…] Update on the wedding dress: The hardest part for me is making the first muslin fit.  Thank G-d that’s finished and […]

[…] finally came and passed (more on that another time).  Below is a picture of my daughter in the wedding dress I made!  Yay! Wedding Dress (My Daughter also!) Tags: art, children, crafts, design, dress making, […]

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Malke

I've been a quilter for a couple of decades and I decided to share my quilts, methods, joys and thoughts on quilting with the rest of the blogsphere. Please bookmark my blog by clicking the cute "Add This" button below. Read more on the "About Me" page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Bookmark and Share
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
